V. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS



STATE MANDATED EMPLOYEE BENEFITS

TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE (TDI)

The Hawaii Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) law was enacted in 1969, which requires
employers to provide partial “wage replacement” insurance coverage to their eligible employees for
nonwork-related sickness or injury. This means that if an employee is unable to work because of an
off-the-job sickness or injury and that employee meets the qualifying conditions of the law, the
disabled employee will be paid disability or sick leave benefits to partially replace the wages lost.
TDI, however, does not include medical care.

To be eligible for TDI benefits, an employee must have at least 14 weeks of Hawaii employment
during each of which the employee was paid for 20 hours or more and earned not less than $400 in
the 52 weeks preceding the first day of disability. The 14 weeks need not be consecutive nor with
only one employer. The employee must also be in current employment to be eligible.

Some employees are excluded from coverage such as the employees of the federal government,
certain domestic workers, insurance agents and real estate sales persons paid solely on a commission
basis, individuals under 18 years of age in the delivery or distribution of newspapers, certain family
employees, student nurses, interns and workers in other categories specifically excluded by the law.
Refer to sections 392-5 and 392-27 of the law for exclusions and ineligibility for benefits. See
www.hawaii.gov/labor/dcd for more information.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION (WC)

An employee’s safety and well being on the job are important. However, accidents and
illnesses can arise from work and when they do, employees are covered under the WC law. The
Hawaii WC was enacted in 1915, and its purpose was to provide wage loss compensation and
medical care to those employees who suffer a work-related injury. The WC law requires the
employer to provide certain benefits without regard to the fault of the employer and prohibits an
employee from filing civil action against the employer for work-related injuries or illnesses.

Any employer, other than those excluded (section 386-1), having one or more employees, full-
time or part-time, permanent or temporary, is required to provide WC coverage for its employees.
The statutory “presumption” places on the employer the burden of producing substantial evidence to
the contrary to rebut a claim for a covered work injury. See www.hawaii.gov/labor/dcd for more
information.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Unemployment Insurance (UI) is a State-operated program that provides temporary financial
assistance to qualified workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own and meet the legal
requirements of the law. Unemployment insurance benefits are paid as a matter of legal entitlement,
not need. Benefits are based on your past employment and attachment to the labor market rather than
on your financial situation.
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STATE MANDATED EMPLOYEE BENEFITS, continued

Unemployment benefits are intended for an employee’s use in paying for part of living costs
while the employee is seeking another job. By making the money available to an out-of-work person,
unemployment insurance also helps to maintain the economic stability of the State.

Employers pay all costs of unemployment insurance through a tax on their payrolls or on a
reimbursable basis. Workers do not pay any part of their wages to finance unemployment benefits or
the unemployment insurance program. See www.hawaii.gov/labor/ui for more information.

PREPAID HEALTH CARE

Originally enacted in 1974, the Hawaii Prepaid Health Care Act was the first in the nation to
set minimum standards of health care benefits for workers. Employers, excluding Federal, State and
City government and other categories specifically excluded by the law (Sections 393-3(8), 393-5 and
393-6) are required to provide Hawaii employees, who suffer a disability due to non-work related
illness or injury, with adequate medical coverage protecting them form the high cost of medical and
hospital care.

Employers must provide health care coverage to employees who work at least twenty (20)
hours per week and earn 86.67 times the current Hawaii minimum wage a month ($6.75 x 86.67 =
$585). Coverage commences after four (4) consecutive weeks of employment or the earliest time
thereafter at which coverage can be provided by the health care plan contractor, which is usually the
first of the month. See www.hawaii.gov/labor/dcd for more information.

PERSONAL SERVICES CONTRACTORS

Characterization of a worker as an employee may also have financial implications regarding
various state-mandated benefits. An employee may be eligible for Workers” Compensation (Chapter
386, Hawaii Revised Statutes), Temporary Disability (Chapter 392, Hawaii Revised Statutes) and
Unemployment Insurance (Chapter 383, Hawaii Revised Statutes) benefits that the State will be
obligated to provide. However, the State is excluded as an employer from providing medical
insurance under the Pre-paid Health Care law, Section 393-3(3), Hawaii Revised Statutes.

State laws determine whether workers are employees for purposes of workers’ compensation,
temporary disability, and unemployment insurance. Workers’ compensation and temporary disability
use the Control Test and Relative Nature of the Work Test to determine if a worker is an employee
and is therefore eligible for benefits. Unemployment Insurance uses a test referred to as the ABC
Test. A full explanation of these tests can be reviewed at the Department of Labor and Industrial
Relations website at http://hawaii.gov/labor/documents/ind_contr_init.pdf. The practical effect in the
application of these tests is that individuals are more often found to be employees rather than
independent contractors.

Because of the differences in definitions, it is possible for a worker to be classified as an
employee for Federal employment tax purposes and an independent contractor for state purposes and
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STATE MANDATED EMPLOYEE BENEFITS, continued

vice versa. (Internal Revenue Services training material, 8/2005). Depending on the control, relative
nature of the work, and other issues involving an individual’s usual course of business a worker’s

characterization could change from project to project, so the analysis should be done on a case-by-
case basis.

The State of Hawaii is “self-insured” regarding temporary disability, workers’ compensation
and unemployment insurance.
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FAQ - PERSONAL SERVICE CONTRACTS
STATE MANDATED EMPLOYEE BENEFITS

1. Q. What are the statutory authorities that may require the State to provide
unemployment insurance, workers' compensation, and temporary disability
insurance to PSC contractors that are paid through the State’s payroll?

A DLIR has opined that personal services contracts are subject
to the following because of the tvpe of work being performed, that
is, regardless of whether the service provider 1is called an
independent contractor or an employee, the State may be reguired to
fulfill the requirements for:

Unemployment insurance (HRS chapter 383)

Section 383-1 defines "employing unit" to specifically include the
State; some types of employment may be excluded but mocst of the
personal services contracts seen are included. {See excluded
service in HRS 383-7.) Section 383~6 defines the control test to
determine whether or not the worker is an employee o©r an
independent contractor. Section 383-61 requires the payment of
contributicns to the Unemployment Fund by employers.

Workers Compensation Law {(HRS chapter 386)

The definition of "Emplovyer" specifically includes the State, §
386~1. Section 386-128 says empleoyvers may insure for Workers Comp
with any authorized insurance carrier, with the implication of the
permissive "may" being they can self-insure.

Temporary Disability Insurance (HRS chapter392)

The definition of "Emplovyer" specifically includes the State, §
392-3. Section 392-41, HRS reguires emplovers Lo secure temporary
disability insurance benefits for employees.

2. Q. Are personal services contracts (PSC) subject to temporary disability
insurance, workers’ compensation, and unemployment insurance?

A. Yes. DLIR has opined that personal services contracts are
subject to the above because of the amount of control exercised
over the work being performed, regardless of whether the service
provider is called an independent contractor or an employee.

3. Q. Are personal services contracts (PSC) subject to medical insurance?

A. No. The State is excluded as an employer from providing
medical insurance under the Pre-paid Health Care law, Section 393-
3{3), Hawall Revised Statutes.
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